stress and toffee

Tis that time of year where life gets really hectic, and I have to make to-do lists that include very simple things like “take a shower” and “eat” just so I don’t forget.

If I don’t, people walk past be all like

5 Razones para dejar de ver TBBT - Sheldon Spray ASCO

ho. ho. ho.

Besides it being the oh-so-holly-jolly holidays (which is a very special kind of frenzy), Heath and I just found a beautiful house for us to start being all married and stuff in. Let me say first, this is not stressful. This is very exciting and we are very thankful…minus the realization that we only own a ton of electronics between the two us. Laptops, kindles, TVs, iPads–all of that we are taken care of. Things to put those electronics in and on is another story. So I’m currently in the process of trying to find all of those, one by one.

Also, I have officially turned in my resignation at my current job and will be starting my new job on Jan 5, 2015. Rejoice! Thankfulness! Excitement! BUT, the transition is occurring right in the middle of the holidays. Yikes.

And what do I love to do when I’m stressed? Eat. That’s what.

I love anything toffee, so here is a recipe that is easy, cheap, and delightful. And one that I have made many a time for myself, and eaten solely by myself. No shame.

Saltine-Toffee-2

Saltine Toffee

You’ll need:

4 ounces saltine crackers

1 cup butter

1 cup dark brown sugar

2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

¾ cup chopped pecans

How to:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (205 degrees C).

Line cookie sheet with saltine crackers in single layer

In a saucepan combine the sugar and the butter. Bring to a boil and boil for 3 minutes. Immediately pour over saltines and spread to cover crackers completely.

Bake at 400 degrees for 5 to 6 minutes

Remove from oven and sprinkle chocolate chips over the top. Let sit for 5 minutes

Spread melted chocolate and top with chopped nuts. Cool completely and break into pieces.

Leave a Reply

