so quiche

A couple of weeks ago, I woke up early on a Saturday. I do not get many Saturdays where I’m not already committed to some plan or event, so I wanted to take advantage of this particular one. The possibilities had my brain swimming . Do I read? Catch up on some much needed house cleaning? Start a new craft project? File through all of my junk in my car trunk? Get my oil changed? Some of those options don’t sound so fun, but are WAY past overdue. Such is adult life.

I took a drive down to the local grocery store and picked up a few items. While waiting in line, I texted a few of my friends “QUICHE. MY HOUSE. 30 MINUTES. BE THERE.” I throw together my ingredients and pop said breakfast pie in the oven. While the quiche baked to a fluffy golden goodness, my roommate Abram played one of his records.

IMG_8799

Cars started to pull in. We started Hocus Pocus before the quiche was done, but of course paused it to slice it up for everyone.

IMG_0240
There’s just something about a slow, late morning shared with friends in the fall.

I wouldn’t have wanted it any other way. I had pictured it the moment I woke up. A day free of schedules and plans, you tell yourself “I can do whatever I want”…and my answer was “I want to feed some friends”. It’s something I haven’t done in a long time, but I do enjoy cooking for people I care about. Enjoying food with friends, especially food you’ve prepared, is a not a revolutionary act. Yet, it is satisfying. After we finished Hocus Pocus–a staple for this time of year–we all talked and drank coffee out on our spacious porch while listening to a “Frightened Rabbit” record (a band Abram introduced me to). Spending the morning in the company of friends, enjoying a hearty quiche, was exactly what my soul was craving.

IMG_0231

May you take time to give back to the ones who pour themselves into you

Basic Quiche Recipe

*It’s super simple, and the best part is you can add any of your favorite add-ins to it. My favorite combos are broccoli + cheese, tomato + basil, and spinach + bacon*

You’ll need:

6 large eggs, beaten

1 1/2 cups heavy cream

refrigerated pie crust

salt and pepper, to taste

(the one pictured had 2 cups baby spinach, 1/2 cups of an onion [chopped], and 1 1/2 cups shredded swiss cheese)

How to:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

Combine the eggs, cream, salt, and pepper in a food processor or blender (whisk is fine as well). Set aside and saute any veggie ingredients. Layer the add-ins (spinach, onions, and cheese) in the bottom of the pie crust, then pour the egg mixture on top. Bake for 35 to 45 minutes until the egg mixture is set. Cut into 8 wedges. Stuff your face.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Megan says:

    Add me to the list that gets those texts! 😘😘 looks delish!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Amanda says:

      Thanks, Megan! I’ll be sure to text you next time! haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

